N. Biren Singh Chief Minister, Manipur

About Department of Town Planning

The Town Planning Department Manipur was established in the year 1965-66 to act as an advisory body on the proper and judicious use of land and also to carry out statutory functions as laid down in the Manipur Town & Country Planning Act, 1975 and Imphal Municipality Building Bye-Laws, 1969. Further the functions and responsibilities of the Town Planning Department under the umbrella of MAHUD have been specified by Government order No. 2/14/86/-LSG(MUC) dated 6.11.1987. Town Planning Department has been given the task of the preparation of regional plans, sub-regional plans, Area plan, preparation of guidelines for development of urban areas and functions specified under the Manipur Town & Country Planning Act, 1975. The Department was designated by the State Government as Nodal Department/ Mission Directorate for Atal Mission for Rejuvenation & Urban Transformation (AMRUT).  There are 67 posts (19 Gazetted and 48 Non-Gazetted) in the Department.